How do we change a person

Use the People album in Photos on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

The Photos app recognizes and groups people's faces in your shots. You can name the people in your photos, mark your favorites and much more.

That's how it's done

The Photos app scans your photos so you can quickly identify the people, scenes, and objects in the photos. Depending on the number of photos you have, you can watch a retrospective movie of them. With iCloud Photos turned on, the people you mark or name as favorites stay up to date on your Apple devices.

Find someone in the People album

The Photos app organizes people's pictures in the People album. A thumbnail is assigned to each recognized person. How to find someone in your People album:

  1. Open the Photos app.
  2. Tap the "Albums" tab.
  3. Tap the People album.

If you assign a name to a person in the Photos app, you can also find them under the "Search" tab. Just tap on "Search", then enter the person's name.

Add someone to the People album

  1. Open a photo of the person you want to add, then swipe up to see a thumbnail of the person under People.
  2. Tap the thumbnail, tap Add Name, then enter the person's name, or tap the name if it appears.
  3. Tap "Next" and then "Done".

Assign names to faces

The Photos app suggests names from your contacts, but you can manually add a name to someone already in your People album: Do one of the following:

  1. Open the People album and tap the thumbnail of the person you want to name.
  2. At the top of the screen, tap Add Name.
  3. If it appears, select or enter the person's name.
  4. Tap "Next" and then "Done".

Merge photos of the same person

Sometimes the same person is identified in more than one group in your People album. To merge all of the photos under one group, tap Select, then tap all of the thumbnails that show the same person. At the bottom right, tap Merge. Groups will also be merged if you give them the same name.

Use "Suggest Less" in the People album

With iOS 14, the Photos app is less likely to suggest certain people. This will adjust the way the Photos app curates your recaps, selected photos, and the photos shown in the Photos widget so that you see fewer photos from these people. It works like this:

  1. Open the People album and tap the person's thumbnail.
  2. Tap the More button in the upper right corner.
  3. Tap on "Suggest less [name]".
  4. Tap the option again to confirm.

If you'd like to receive fewer suggestions for someone, you'll need to reset your Reviews settings to get that person back in the People album. Go to Settings> Photos, tap Reset Suggested Reviews, then tap Reset to confirm.

Instead of seeing fewer suggestions for a person, you can remove them from the People album. Just follow steps 1-2 and tap "Remove [name] from 'People'". You can add the person back at any time.

Mark people as favorites

Marking the most important people as favorites will make it easier for you to find them. If you haven't set any favorites yet, the photos will show the favorites icon displayed. To mark someone as a favorite, simply tap the favorite icon.

You can also click the person's thumbnail and then click the "More" button Tap and then select "Add [Name] to Favorites". To bookmark multiple people as favorites at once, tap Select, tap each person you want to bookmark, then tap Favorite at the bottom of the People album.

Change a thumbnail photo

Photos automatically assigns a thumbnail to each person it recognizes. If you'd like to use a different thumbnail for someone, you can change that in that person's photo collection screen. It works like this:

  1. Open the People album and tap the person.
  2. Tap Select, then tap Show Faces to focus on the person's face in each photo.
  3. Tap the photo you want to use.
  4. Tap the Share button and then click "Set as key photo".

Correct incorrectly assigned names and faces

If you discover that there is a misidentified person in a collection, you can remove the image from the collection. It works like this:

  1. Open the People album and tap the person.
  2. Tap Select, then tap Show Faces to focus on the person's face in each photo.
  3. Tap any photo that doesn't belong to the person.
  4. Tap the Share button and then on "Not this person".

Release date: