What is Spotify's Social Listening Feature

Listen to music privately

By default, everyone who follows you on Spotify can see what you are listening to through the friend activities.

If you don't want other people to know what you're listening to, you can start a private session.

Note: Content that you listen to in a private session may not be considered for your music recommendations, e.g. B. in your mix of the week.

Select your device below to learn how to activate a private session.
 

  1. Tap begin.
  2. Tap on "Settings" .
  3. Activate under Social the option Private session.

To end the private session, repeat the steps and deactivate the option.

The private session ends automatically when you restart Spotify or after a long period of inactivity.

  1. Click in the top right .
  2. Click on Private session.

A lock symbol on your profile picture indicates that a private session is active.

To end the private session, repeat the steps and deactivate the option.

The private session ends automatically when you restart Spotify or after a long period of inactivity.

Last updated: April 29, 2021