What is the PRT Teacher's Qualification


There are currently six specialist areas under the umbrella of the German Swimming Association. The four Olympic disciplines (swimming, synchronized swimming, water polo and diving) as well as the specialist areas of popular, leisure and health sports (BFG for short) and master’s sport. They demand different motor skills and training science requirements from athletes and coaches. That is why the qualifications of the Trainer C license are divided into different profiles.

The first distinction is the objective, if I as a coach want to pursue a more popular sport or a more competitive sport orientation. Popular sport also differentiates between age groups. There is a license that deals with children and young people and one that deals with the target group of adults and the elderly.

Competitive sport divides the licenses exclusively into the four specialist disciplines and basically covers all age groups in the first license level. Fig. 1 shows the division of the C license level.

Fig.1 - Simplified training scheme from assistant trainer to certified trainer. The certified trainer is not part of the licensing system. Even qualified trainers must regularly take part in training courses to obtain the A license. The presentation does not take into account the training courses for trainer C popular sport or for trainer B prevention (water movement area).

As a future license holder, I experience the overlap, i.e. the knowledge that all trainers should have, during basic training. The content of the training is illustrated in Figure 2.

Person- and group-related content

Children's development and behavior

Didactics and methodology (learning theories, motivation, selection of methods, use of aids)

7 learning units; from that

2 learning units

5 learning units

Exercise and sport practice-related content

Getting used to and coping with water (water phenomena, teaching of basic skills)

Introduction to the types of swimming (alternating pulling techniques, equal pulling techniques, deviations from the model)

23 learning units; from that

8 learning units

15 learning units

Fig. 2 Contents of the common basic training