Have you ever unfollowed someone on Facebook

Internet Facebook: Remove traces of data

display

Facebook and Google are often referred to as "data octopuses" in the same breath, and that is basically correct: Both companies offer numerous practical services for free. In return, the user makes his existence available as a profile, with which the services can in turn place advertising as accurately as possible. It's actually even worse with Facebook. Because while Google can be operated largely without a user account, meaningful Facebook use is only possible with a profile and login. In addition, users give out their data willingly. It doesn't have to be.

How to remove your traces of data from Facebook

1. If you don't use Facebook: Log out!

Probably the most important tip on data protection on Facebook is as banal as it is easy to forget: That Log out. Because Facebook is set up in such a way that it saves the login via a browser cookie and thus always remains logged in. At least until you get that Clear browser cache or to one switch to another browserwith which you are not logged in. The perfidious thing about it: Through the various social media switches on websites, the "Like" buttons, If necessary, Facebook can see what you are doing online. It doesn't have to be, which is why you should always log out Facebook when you are not using it. To do this, click on the at the top right small triangle down and choose "Sign out". You are then logged out and Facebook can no longer evaluate your surfing behavior.

2. Write as little personal information as possible in the profile

Another data octopus factor on Facebook is the friendly demand for information. Facebook constantly reports that you should add information here and there: Employer, school, place of birth, age or film preferences allow iAlways more precise creation of profiles. Then there are the friendships that you manage on Facebook and of course everything that you post regularly: pictures, status updates, location information. This creates a gigantic collection of data on Facebook that is difficult to keep under control. The company evaluates this data for advertising. Oh yes: WhatsApp and Instagram are also part of Facebook. And most users give out their data willingly. If this is scary to you, you should Reduce information in the profile to a minimum - and don't react to Facebook's nudging that you should add this or that piece of information. It's also important that if you post, it should not public take place: Select at the bottom of the post window "Friends"Or"Just me“.

3. Get rid of Facebook profile data

But how can you Remove data from Facebook again? Well: First of all you can of course use the data remove from your profile. To do this, open Your facebook profileby clicking on the top left of the Facebook home page click on your name and there "info" choose. All information about you is clearly listed here. Now go through the individual menu items on the left and delete them by clicking next to the entry on "To edit“Click (in the new Facebook design on the Pen icon) and the Remove info here.

4. View Facebook activities

Now you should check your activities on Facebook. Are fast thoughtless likes set for topics that, well, could irritate employers or acquaintances. This can backfire, which is why you should use liking and sharing carefully. About the Activity log you can (after logging in) under https://www.facebook.com/(username)/allactivity#_ control what you've been up to on Facebook lately.

5. Delete specific activities

To remove an activity - such as a careless "like" - you can click on the right next to the entry small pencil icon (in the new design three points) click. Depending on the type of activity, you have several choices: You can Delete posts, Remove likes ("I don't like it anymore") or remove shared content from the timeline.

display

6. Limit the visibility of old entries

Now you can restrict the visibility of old entries. In this way you get posts "back", in other words: posts that had the wrong access status (such as "public") become retrospectively limited in their visibility. To do this, open https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=privacy§ion=masher&view and click on "Limit past posts". These can then only be viewed by friends.

7. Check privacy

If you are in the process of checking your privacy anyway, you should also take a look at the "How to be found and contacted"(In the new design"This is how you can be found and contacted") on the same page. Set how you want to be found and who is allowed to send you contact requests. Attention: This function should be set with care, otherwise you may become invisible to old school friends or other people who are not directly friends.

8. Clear Facebook search history and other data

Back to the data track. Who does not know that: three glasses of red wine in your head and looking for your old friend on Facebook at a late hour ... that can quickly become uncomfortable, because Facebook remembers the searches in the Facebook search mask. And a lot of other information. Open the Activity history and click on the left under "Photos and videos" on "More“: Here you will find all other Facebook activities, including the Search history, the Location history, Your Subscriptions or other content. Click on the relevant entry and remove individual entries. in the new Facebook design you can use filter set which activities you want to see.

display

9. Facebook doesn't like to forget - delete account?

However, you cannot delete everything at once. Facebook does not like to forget what makes sense in the context of its purpose to be a social network. After all, with a “delete everything” button, all likes, shares and so on would be lost. If you really want to remove all data from Facebook, there is only one solution: You need to delete the account and avoid the network from now on.

You have two options for this: You can either open the account at https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=account§ion=account_management&view at the bottom deactivatewhich only makes it inactive. All data is retained, but the account behaves as if it were gone. As soon as you log in again, this function is deactivated.

If you Turn your back on Facebook for good select https://m.facebook.com/account/delete and enter your password here. Facebook asks a few more times, then that's it However, the account will be irretrievably deleted.

Further precautionary measures

In order to provide Facebook with as little personal data as possible from the outset, you should also observe the following tips: