Are social media settings important

Privacy in Facebook & Co.

This is the best way to set up Facebook and Co.

In the following we will show you where you can find the settings for the most important networks and which points you should pay attention to. To do this, you have to be logged into your user account.

Facebook

Privacy - Determine here who can see your content, who can contact you and who can search for you on Facebook. Use the list function for this, with which you can group and organize your friends.

Apps in Facebook -Via surveys and little games on Facebook, third-party providers can also get your Facebook data and the information of your friends. Via the menu item Apps you can withdraw this authorization from individual providers or switch off the entire function. There you can also prevent you from being spied on by your friends' apps.

Visibility of the posts - You can also redefine the recipient group for each post (you can find the option under Friends> Who should see this?> Certain friends). You have the choice between individual persons or lists, which you can define and manage individually.

Markings - On Facebook, every friend has the opportunity to tag you on a photo. Alternatively, you can choose to check all photo tags on your friend's profile first. In this way you protect yourself from content from third parties being traced back to your profile without permission.

Block users - You can block pages, apps and other users in an emergency.

Settings for ads - You can stipulate that the Facebook operator does not use your profile to recommend company pages or to post to friends. To do this, select the option “nobody”.

Find friends - In this tab, Facebook offers you the option of searching your address book (e.g. email or Skype) for contacts. We advise against using the function.

Facebook app - The Facebook app automatically adds your location to posts. To adjust this setting, switch off the messenger location services in the app settings. To do this, remove the checkmark next to “whereabouts” in Facebook Messenger. All other options can be found in the account settings.

Erasing inconvenient data - Once you've posted something on Facebook, the information stays with the company, even if you take the post off again. We explain how you can permanently delete the data in a separate guide.

Google+ and Youtube

My account - Since June 2015, Google has been offering users a complete overview of the most important settings. There you can manage your logins and devices, increase your privacy and adjust your account settings. If you prefer the fast run-through, you can use the security and privacy checks offered by Google. However, we recommend checking the menu items individually, especially the following.

Settings for Youtube - The data protection settings on YouTube are very poor. There you can only set your ratings and subscriptions to private, i.e. only visible to you. Also use the settings on Google+.

Google+ settings - The profile settings can be adjusted in various ways. For example, you can determine who can interact with you, who can see your content and what is displayed on your profile.

Visibility of the posts - In the profile settings you define the recipient group for your contributions. You also have the option of individually defining the group of recipients for each new contribution. This works on both Google+ and Youtube. Use the option to organize your contacts in circles in advance.

Block users - You can find the option to block a user on their profile to the right of the hangout symbol. Clicking on the arrow opens a menu in which this option is listed.

Settings for ads - In the ad settings, you can restrict Google's access to your surfing behavior and deactivate interest-based ads.

Whatsapp

Contacts - With newer smartphones, you can deny Whatsapp access to your address book. However, this means that the app can only be used to a limited extent because you have to type in the numbers in the old-fashioned way. However, if the address book is transferred to Whatsapp, Facebook also has access to the phone numbers, email addresses and addresses of your friends and acquaintances.

Privacy settings - The options for data protection on Whatsapp can be found under the settings. To do this, click on Account and then on Data Protection. In the data protection settings you can choose whether everyone, your contacts or nobody can see the following information: online status, profile picture, status, location.

Block users - In the data protection settings, under Blocked contacts, you can specify who is no longer allowed to contact you at all.

Instagram

Privacy settings - You can protect your posts on Instagram by converting your profile into a private account in the options. Only followers who have been confirmed by you can see your pictures.

Block users - You can block another user by going to their profile and selecting this option in the menu.

Snapchat

Privacy and recommendation to ads - In the settings you can specify whether you want to allow filters and thus access to your location, who can contact you and whether the advertising should be tailored to your profile (preferences). You can get to the settings by swiping up once and clicking on the gear in the top right corner.

Visibility of the posts - You can also determine who can view your stories in the settings.

Block users - You can block other users directly on their profiles. To do this, click on the gear and select the option Block.

Twitter

Privacy settings - You can find the options for data protection on Twitter under Settings and Data Protection. There you can determine: whether your tweets are public or only visible to your followers, who can tag you in photos, whether your account can be found by email, whether you subscribe to customized advertisements.

Block users - You can also block another user. The user can then no longer contact you or mark a photo with your name. He only notices that you have muted him when he searches for your profile. To do this, go to their profile and click on the menu next to the Follow button.

Xing

Privacy settings - Xing attaches great importance to data protection and has published a detailed explanation on this. You can define your data protection preferences under Privacy. There you can determine, among other things, who can see your group posts, your activities and your profile.

Visibility of the posts - Posts that you post on the homepage can be seen by all of your contacts. You cannot limit the number of recipients any further.

Linkedin

Settings for data protection and ads - The default settings allow the career network extensive access to your data. For example, you will be shown contacts that LinkedIn has identified via your registration address. You can also synchronize the portal with other accounts under Contacts. We advise against this function.

You will find a detailed overview in data protection & settings. The important details are difficult to find, however. Therefore, pay attention to the following points and adapt them to your preferences.

In the Profile tab -Privacy controls: adjust all points.

In the Communication tab -Member communication: adjust all points.
Linkedin communications: adjust all items.

In the Groups, Companies and Applications tab -Groups: Activate / deactivate group invitations and activate or deactivate notifications about group joining.
Privacy controls: Activate or deactivate the sharing of data with external applications.

In the Account tab -Privacy controls: Manage advertising settings.
Settings: Change profile photo and visibility.

Discussion forums

Data protection in forums and communities varies greatly. But you have to be aware that those of youThe content posted is generally publicare. In some forums you can at least deny non-members access to your profile. To do this, look out for Settings, Options, Preferences or Administration in the menu.