Why do people have chakras

The 7 chakras

The knowledge of chakras and the chakra theory is passed down from Indian philosophy as well as from other spiritual traditions. The energy system in the human body is divided into seven energy centers. One can imagine an energy axis through the body in which there are subtle energy vortices. The term chakra comes from Sanskrit and literally means wheel or circle. This means the connection points between the human body and the astral body. These energy vortices have the task of absorbing energy from the outside and thus filling up the human energy system. Thus, the 7 chakras represent a kind of receiving station and distributor for the different forms of energy in the human body. They convert the energy that the 7 chakras absorb so that the body can develop further. Humans perceive this energy in the form of thoughts, feelings or physical sensations. The chakras are connected to one another along the spine, with each chakra having its own task and supplying a specific area in the body with energy. How much energy flows through the body depends on how well the chakra system is developed.

History of the 7 chakra system

The history of the 7 chakra system begins in Hinduism. Well-known writings about it are already over 4,000 years old. In addition to Hinduism, the origin of the 7 chakra system can also be found in the yoga tradition. The body with its energy system, which consists of seven main energy centers, serves as the basis for this system. The chakra system is mentioned in the Hindu scriptures, but also in some Upanishads and scriptures of the Veda. It also occurs in tantrism. But the 7 chakra system is not only known in Hinduism. These energy centers are also known in the Bön religion in Tibet and chakra-like systems are mentioned among the Zulu, Hopi or Tsalgi. In modern times, the chakra system is mainly used in yoga, neotantra or alternative healing methods such as Reiki. Through the seven chakras, humans have the opportunity to bring their energy into harmony with that of the universe.

The 7 chakras

There are seven main chakras and numerous minor chakras in the human body. Unlike the main chakras, which are located along the spine, the chakra points of the secondary chakras are distributed throughout the body. The seven main chakras are named after their location in the body and have different effects. All of them have their own chakra meaning.

    1. Root chakra

  • Colour: red
  • Sanskrit: Muladhara
  • Location: pelvic floor
  • Mantra: Lam
  • Element: earth
  • Sense: odor
  • Importance: Life force, courage, assertiveness

  • 2. Sacral chakra

  • Colour: orange
  • Sanskrit: Svadhistana
  • Location: Lower abdomen
  • Mantra: Vam
  • Element: water
  • Sense: taste
  • Importance: Partnership, sexuality, joie de vivre

  • 3. Solar plexus chakra

  • Colour: yellow
  • Sanskrit: Manipura chakra
  • Location: navel
  • Mantra: R.A.M
  • Element: Fire
  • Sense: See
  • Importance: Self-worth, gut feeling, balance

  • 4. Heart chakra

  • Colour: Light green
  • Sanskrit: Anahata
  • Location: chest
  • Mantra: Yam
  • Element: air
  • Sense: Keys
  • Importance: Love, harmony, goodness, peace

  • 5. Throat chakra, throat chakra

  • Colour: Light Blue
  • Sanskrit: Vissudha
  • Location: Larynx
  • Mantra: Ham
  • Element: ether
  • Sense: Listen
  • Importance: Creativity, expressiveness, friendliness

  • 6. Third eye chakra, third eye

  • Colour: violet
  • Sanskrit: Ajna
  • Location: forehead
  • Mantra: Aum
  • Element: time
  • Sense: Higher mind
  • Importance: Knowledge, wisdom, trust, imagination

  • 7. Crown chakra

  • Colour: White
  • Sanskrit: Sahasrara
  • Location: Parting
  • Mantra: -
  • Element: room
  • Sense: -
  • Importance: Spirituality, silence, perfection

Chakra colors and chakra symbols are in resonance with the respective chakra. The symbols have been assigned to the chakras for centuries. The symbols are mandalas, which symbolize not only the meaning of the chakra but also its life's work. The chakra colors are related to the frequency of the chakras. The chakra colors range from the deepest black to white or transparent.

Chakra healing stones and their effects

As there are chakra symbols and colors for each chakra, certain chakra stones are also in resonance with the chakras. These gemstones are called healing stones. The chakra stones are always chosen in one of the chakra colors in order to achieve the desired effect. The healing stones can be used for chakra meditation or you can create a gemstone water. The healing stone effect is also achieved when the healing stone is set up in the room or worn directly on the body, for example as a piece of jewelry. Meditation is an important technique to be able to cleanse chakras, to activate them or to be able to release chakra blockages. The vibrations of each individual chakra work together with the individual vibration of the gemstone. The vibrations can take the form of sound, tone or color frequencies of light. If the healing stones are in resonance with the chakra, the gemstone effect is particularly effective.

Purify, strengthen and activate chakras and release blockages

Chakra healing with various aids such as healing stones or various methods such as yoga or meditation is not only an important task in esotericism, ensuring a balance of chakras and thus ensuring a balanced energy balance in the body. Before starting to strengthen and build up chakras, it is important to purify them. However, the most important of all work with the chakras is to open the chakras. This is primarily a work of awareness. Since the chakras give a good overview of human consciousness, it is relatively easy to find out deeper causes and connections with the chakra theory. Chakra meditation itself should not be used as the sole technique, for example to open the heart chakra. Rather, it is important to see meditation as part of holistic chakra healing. In order to be able to open chakras, it is important to know about the subtle connections of the chakra doctrine and the building of consciousness. The chakras are to be seen as conveyors of information that make it possible to experience physical and spiritual experiences. But these experiences also influence the chakras. One can gain direct energetic access to consciousness via the 7 chakras.

Possible uses of chakra therapy

Chakra therapy ensures that life energy flows in the body and is stored there. This not only makes it possible to influence personal development, but also ensures better physical and mental health. With chakra therapy, the flow of energy can be stimulated and regulated. This leads to the immune system being strengthened and the circulation being stabilized. Chakra therapy helps to detoxify the organs and the body so that the body functions are normalized. First and foremost, the chakra theory is about establishing the flow of energy in the body and releasing any blockages that may be present. Chakra therapy can be used for a wide variety of complaints. Digestive problems or eating disorders, nervous disorders, inflammation, pain and cancer can also be treated in this way. Before attempting chakra therapy, a simple test can be used to determine which of the chakras needs energy work. With the various aids and techniques, each chakra blockage can be released, a chakra can be activated or opened. In any case, the chakra therapy ensures mental and physical well-being.