Why do people want to delete Facebook

Delete Facebook: How to permanently remove your account

Thomas Armbrüster, Peter Müller

Facebook is no longer considered trustworthy by many when it comes to handling personal data. Others are bothered by the increasing hatred and malice on Facebook. But how do you finally say goodbye to the social network?

EnlargeFor "thumbs down!" more and more reasons come to mind
© Stopped_clock / shutterstock.com

"Bad news are good news" - Facebook carried the flat business model of the tabloids into the 21st century and perfected it to a certain extent. Because Facebook is above all interested in keeping its users on its pages for as long as possible in order to show them as much advertising as possible, which, as is well known, knows as much as possible about the user and his preferences. The algorithms deliberately flush a lot of excitement and controversy into the timeline. Sheer hatred rages in comments on press articles, especially when it comes to news that many people do not want to admit - and therefore simply negate facts and often cover the bearers of the bad news with insults and threats that sooner or later lead to acts of violence against them People could lead.

However, numerous affairs relating to data security on Facebook also deter many users, especially in Europe more and more users are logging out of the social network. The company's recent failures against Apple show that Facebook is still interested in gaining as much data as possible from its users in order to turn them into money. With the update to iOS 14.5 and iPadOS 14.5, the iPhone manufacturer has announced that it will sharpen the strict privacy guidelines announced in summer 2020. Ad trackers, which follow users across all applications and which make high-priced advertising possible in the first place, are switched off at the factory and only become active after the users have given their consent. And from now on, every application must have a label in the App Store that shows that the app is hungry for data.

No wonder, then, if you want to turn your back on the increasingly anti-social social network.

But how do you actually delete your Facebook account? We show you how it works:

Permanently delete Facebook account

The easiest way to delete your account is through the "Settings" menu, which you can find on the Facebook page in the top right corner. In the left-hand bar of the page called up above, you will find the sub-item "Your Facebook information". Click on it. Then all you have to do is select the "Delete your account and information" option and confirm. Alternatively, you can enter the following link directly in your browser: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account

We have reproduced and logged the entire process here using a rarely used account:

Before you delete your account, however, you should make sure to transfer the admin rights of the pages you manage to friends or colleagues, otherwise these apps or pages will disappear from Facebook when you delete them. The social network expressly warns against this. Before you delete your account, you also have the option of downloading all of your data from Facebook to your computer (see also picture gallery). You can find out how this works without deletion here.

Account will only be permanently deleted after 30 days

Please note: Your account is not deleted immediately. You have 30 days to undo the deletion of your account. To do this, you simply have to log into your Facebook account again. You will then be given the option to undo the deletion of your account.

Facebook states that it can take up to 90 days for all of your data to be deleted from Facebook's servers. However, you can only reactivate your account within the specified period of 30 days.