Who can see my DP on WhatsApp

Signal profiles and conversation requests

Signal profiles and conversation requests keep users informed of who is sending them messages

Continue reading:

 


What is my signal profile?

Your encrypted signal profile is a name and a photo that you have specified in the app. If you lose or exchange your device, your existing profile can be restored using the Signal PIN.

Is a signal profile required?

Mandatory (encrypted) names let people know who is notifying them.

  • The "first name" is required. You can also enter a nickname, a single letter, or an emoji.
  • Photos and last names are optional.
  • Remember that when you send them a message, people will see this and they haven't saved you in their contacts.
  • Profile names are required to support conversation requests and new features like automatic group upgrades.

How is my Signal profile displayed?

It will appear next to your existing phone number when communicating with other users. Conversations will feel more personal. Group conversations are less confusing.

Who can see my Signal profile?

It is automatically shared with:

  • from all contacts that you have saved in your address book,
  • of people or groups in conversations you create,
  • from people or groups that you expressly accept,
  • and from all groups to which you are added by someone with whom you have already shared your profile.

Is it necessary to share my Signal profile?

Yes, it is necessary to share your Signal profile in order to continue conversations with unsaved contacts and to support new functions such as automatic group migration.

Can Signal's servers see my Signal profile?

Signal has no knowledge of your chosen name or the image you have chosen. Your profile information is encrypted throughout with a unique profile key that is securely shared over the same signal log messaging channel that already protects your conversations and calls.

 


What is a conversation request?

Conversation requests allow you to block, delete, or accept messages from someone trying to contact you.

  • In order to support conversation requests, you now need to create a signal profile.
  • In one-on-one conversations, you'll see the name (and photo) of the person trying to message you.
  • In group conversations, you have more control over whether or not to join a group, and group members are less confusing with profiles than with a range of phone numbers.

What if I ...

Block
  • Contact:
    • Blocks that person from seeing your Signal profile and picture.
    • You won't receive any notifications for the contact, including messages, calls, or group invites.
    • This contact will not know that you blocked them.
  • Group:
    • Block the group from seeing your signal profile and picture.
    • You leave the group. The group notifies that you have left the group.
    • You will no longer receive any messages or updates from this blocked group.
    • You cannot be added to the group again.
  • Learn more about blocking contacts and groups.
Delete
  • Clears the conversation.
  • Additionally for groups, this group leaves.
Suppose
  • Allows that person to see your Signal profile.
  • Allows that person to receive read receipts if enabled on both devices.
  • Allows this person to text you or call you.
  • Adds this person to your Signal contact list.