You can replace bulgur with oats

Wheat intolerance: 5 alternatives for allergy sufferers

Difference between gluten or wheat sensitivity, wheat allergy and celiac disease

A wheat allergy is not synonymous with gluten intolerance or celiac disease. The latter is considered an autoimmune disease of the gastrointestinal tract, in which the body reacts to gluten with antibodies. Wheat allergy sufferers, on the other hand, react to the proteins contained in the grain. Ingested through food, these proteins can cause wheat sensitivity and thus allergic reactions.

Typical symptoms include gastrointestinal complaints such as abdominal pain, diarrhea, bloating or nausea. However, other physical reactions such as headaches, tiredness or even muscle ailments can occur with wheat sensitivity.

  • Celiac Disease: In celiac disease, the immune system defends itself against the gluten contained in cereals such as wheat, rye, barley and spelled.
    Symptoms: Abdominal pain, diarrhea, gas, nausea, weight loss, lack of strength.
  • Wheat allergy: A wheat allergy is an overreaction of the immune system.
    Symptoms: Headache, shortness of breath, vomiting, rash, gastrointestinal complaints, listlessness.
  • Wheat sensitivity: Wheat sensitivity is an intolerance to wheat components that is probably not triggered by the gluten contained in the grain. It is also known as "non-celiac disease-non-wheat allergy-wheat intolerance".
    Symptoms: Abdominal pain, gas, diarrhea, headache, fatigue, muscle and joint problems.

Wheat intolerance as a cause of irritable bowel syndrome

Similar to wheat intolerance, the most common symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome are cramps, nausea, diarrhea or a feeling of fullness. This is not surprising, after all, a third of those affected by irritable bowel syndrome suffer from wheat intolerance. For example, giving up wheat can often alleviate the symptoms after just a few weeks. In general, the so-called FODMAP diet can help irritable bowel patients.

Have wheat intolerance tested

First of all, the exclusion principle is used to avoid wheat products in order to rule out a possible celiac disease and wheat allergy as a diagnosis. A food diary can be helpful for the examination so that a doctor can later get a comprehensive impression of the clinical picture. If the symptoms subside, this can point to gluten or wheat sensitivity as a possible cause of the symptoms.

Wheat intolerance can also be determined with a skin or blood test for specific IgE antibodies by an allergist. Those affected should replace wheat with alternative products and remove it from their diet if possible.

These foods can contain wheat

In some foods, it is obvious that they contain wheat. However, other foods can also contain wheat. Therefore, you should always inquire before consuming or study the ingredients on the packaging.

  • Bread rolls, bread and other baked goods
  • Biscuits and cakes
  • cereal
  • Pasta
  • Pizza
  • Pudding powder
  • Breaded meat or fish with breading
  • Ready-made sauces
  • baking powder
  • Couscous and bulgur
  • Packaged grated parmesan
  • Grain rideshakes
  • Cold cuts
  • sweets
  • chewing gum
  • lots of ready meals
  • Dumplings
  • glaze
  • Cream stiffener
  • Nut nougat cream

Wheat alternatives for allergy sufferers

Whether in bread, cakes, biscuits and even sausages - wheat is one of the most common and most commonly used grains in food. But it is not considered to be the healthiest and affects not only allergy sufferers but increasingly also healthy people with increasing intolerance reactions. Weight gain in the case of wheat intolerance cannot be ruled out. However, those affected can fall back on alternatives.

Refraining from wheat: 5 alternatives for the menu

  • Rye:Like wheat, rye is one of the grains from the sweet grass family. However, with more fiber and higher mineral content, it's a healthy alternative to wheat.
  • Amaranth:In fact, amaranth is not a grain at all and is therefore a great alternative for people with a wheat allergy. The millet-like miracle grain of the Incas is one of the oldest plants cultivated by humans and scores with numerous nutrients and vital substances. It is also completely gluten-free.
  • Oats:Rich in valuable proteins, vitamins and minerals, oats are probably one of the healthiest types of grain. The advantage: In contrast to wheat, which contains more insoluble fiber, you can find both insoluble and soluble fiber in oats. The latter can lower blood fat and cholesterol levels. Recipe tip: Warm breakfast - three delicious variations with oats
  • Quinoa:Quinoa has been called a superfood for some time, and not without good reason. The power grains contain all nine amino acids, magnesium and vitamin B2. Recipe tip: quinoa cakes
  • Millet:Millet is also a good alternative to wheat for people with gluten intolerance. Millet flour is also very suitable for baking.

Wheat noodles: the best alternatives

Those who suffer from a wheat intolerance do not have to go without pasta. Instead of products containing wheat, simply use vegetable noodles, also known as zoodles. Zucchini, sweet potatoes or carrots can be used to conjure up delicious vegetable noodles, which are also a lot healthier than wheat noodles. Whole grain rice noodles are also a good alternative to pasta because they are gluten-free and wheat-free. There is a well-rated product here.

Can you drink beer if you have a wheat intolerance?

Now a nice wheat beer! Don't worry, you can have a beer - but the beer should be gluten-free. In the case of wheat intolerance, it makes no difference whether it is solid or liquid food: the intolerance remains the same! You don't have to do without the enjoyment of a cool beer, because the following manufacturers, among others, offer gluten-free beer that you can order directly here: